Finally, the day will come to start getting back to normal, well kinda. This Wednesday in Arkansas barbers, hair salons, massage spas, cosmetology and body art establishments will open. But it will be a little different than what we are used to.

Here is an outline of the conditions required to safely reopen these entities during Phase 1.

According to the press release from the Arkansas Department of Health,

  • Providers may resume services, however, those services shall be scheduled by appointment with adequate time in between appointments to properly clean and disinfect. Walk-in appointments are prohibited during Phase 1.
  • Vulnerable populations (i.e. those persons over the age of 65 or with chronic medical conditions) should consider remaining home during Phase 1.
  • Clients shall be pre-screened for potential COVID-related symptoms prior to arrival for the appointment using the following questions:

-Have you had a fever of 100.4 F or greater in the last 2 days?

-Do you have a cough, difficulty breathing, sore throat or loss of taste or smell?

-Have you had contact with a person known to be infected with COVID-19                        within the past 14 days?

-Those answering “yes” to any of the above shall have their services postponed for 14 days.

  • Employees/licensees shall be pre-screened with both the standardized questionnaire and a daily temperature check. Any employee with a temperature of 100.4 F or greater will not be allowed to work.
  • Services shall not be performed on clients who show any signs of illness such as fever, cough, or runny nose. Signage shall be posted informing clients about this policy.
  • All persons in the salon/shop/clinic are required to maintain physical distancing of at least 6 ft while services are not being rendered. For most entities, occupancy will be limited to no more than 10 persons, including all support staff.
  • In smaller facilities, the 6 ft physical distancing condition may require that fewer than 10 persons are present at any given time.
  • Larger facilities (able to accommodate more than 10 persons while maintaining appropriate physical distancing) shall operate no more than 30% of their stations during Phase 1.
  • Barbers, stylists, employees shall wear a face covering at all times. A cloth face covering is acceptable for this purpose.
  • Clients shall wear masks as services permit. A cloth face covering is acceptable for this purpose. Signage shall be posted informing clients about this policy.
  • Waiting area chairs shall be positioned to ensure 6 ft of social distancing. When possible, clients should wait outside of the shop/salon/clinic until called by their stylist/therapist.
  • All existing infection control rules remain in effect and will be enforced. Non-porous surfaces shall be cleaned and disinfected prior to use. Porous items shall be discarded after a single use.
  • Gloves shall be worn for all services as required by Rule. Licensees are encouraged to wear gloves for all other services when able.
  • Handwashing shall be performed before and after each service.
  • The Department of Health COVID Infection Control Education module should be viewed prior to reopening.
  • Practitioners shall maintain a record of the name, date, and contact information, for each client service for a period of one month. This may be accomplished using a sign-in sheet.

It's a bit daunting but it is what to expect. Just please be patient with your hairstylist, massage therapist, barber, body art professional. They are doing their best to serve you, their client, as safely as possible.

Eagle 106.3 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app


Beware of These 50 Jobs That Might Vanish in the Next 50 Years


More From Eagle 106.3