Leadership Texarkana celebrated and honored leadership in our community this past week with the Annual Wilbur Awards held on Tuesday, April 20.

Congratulations to this year's winners at the 2021 Wilbur Awards and thank you for all you do in our community:

The Leader Of The Year Award - Cory J. Floyd

Pictured below: Cory J. Floyd (2021 IRH Recipient) and Mary Ellen Young (2020 Idalee Raffaelli Hawkins Recipient)

Leadership Texarkana


Wilbur Award for Organization – For the Sake of One

Pictured below:Mary Ellen Young and Angela Coston (Executive Director) For the Sake of One.

Leadership Texarkana

Wilbur Award for Adult – Elizabeth Patterson

(Pictured below: Mary Ellen Young (Leadership Texarkana Board President), Liz Patterson, Kristie Dempsey (Leadership Texarkana Board Member)

Leadership Texarkana

Wilbur Youth Awards - Fazeka Barnes and Delia Tuttlebee

Leadership Texarkana

Also honored for exemplary community leadership:

Wilbur Adult Honorees Theresa Cowling, Brandy Eldridge, Cloris Hopkins, Francine Francis, Russell Sparks

Leadership Texarkana’s Wilbur Awards is an annual event that started in 1992 and named in honor of one of Texarkana's most beloved natives, Wilbur Smith. if you were fortunate enough to meet him you would understand the meaning of these awards. Wilbur was a wonderfully sweet man dedicated to the Texarkana community and a historian of all things Texarkana.

You can find out more about Leadership Texarkana and how to be a part of it at their website leadershiptexarkana.com

Get our free mobile app


LOOK: Here are the best small towns to live in across America