The University of Arkansas at Hope-Texarkana will host a 50th Anniversary Golden Gala on Tuesday evening, October 20, on the grounds of the McLarty family home in Hope, Arkansas.  

The outdoor gala, hosted by Mack and Donna McLarty, will highlight the service and partnerships of 10 individuals who have been instrumental in the College’s 50 years of success.

The evening’s honorees include AEP-SWEPCO President and Chief Operating Officer Venita McCellon-Allen, University of Arkansas System President Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt, U of A Hope-Texarkana Visitor Larry Dowd, University of Arkansas Trustee John Goodson, U of A Hope-Texarkana Board of Visitors Chairman Jerry Pruden, U of A Hope-Texarkana Foundation Chairman Ned Ray Purtle, U of A Board of Visitors Secretary Bonnie A. Routon, Red River Vo-Tech first Director J.W. Rowe, U of A Hope-Texarkana Visitor Freddie Smith, and Former U of A System President Dr. B. Alan Sugg.

Biographical information on the honorees is available at under the Golden Gala tab.

The evening under the stars will feature the Texarkana Symphony Quartet and a unique dining experience from some of Arkansas’ great chefs. Sponsorship opportunities and individual tickets are available. For more information about this event contact the U of A Hope-Texarkana Advancement Office at 870-722-8516.


More From Eagle 106.3