The Texarkana Arkansas School District has named the Teacher of the Year.

Mrs. Anne Formby was recently named the 2016--2017 Teacher of the Year. Mrs. Formby is a math teacher at Arkansas High School and serves as the mathematics department head.

Mrs. Formby is a class of 1984 graduate of Arkansas High School. She completed her Bachelor of Science – Mathematics in 1988 at the University of Notre Dame and went on to receive a Master of Science in Education – Mathematics from Henderson State University. Mrs. Formby began her career as a math teacher at Fa’asao High School in American Samoa where she also served as the mathematics and computer department head and curriculum coordinator. She has taught advanced mathematics, pre-algebra, Algebra I & II, geometry, trigonometry and statistics at high schools in both Texas and Arkansas.

Mrs. Formby joined the Razorback family in 2008 and continues to inspire her students to reach their fullest potential. She believes that, as a teacher, it is her duty to make sure future generations are properly educated to sustain this great nation. This belief is evident in her willingness to help students beyond the four walls of the classroom. In addition to dedicating her time to her students, Mrs. Formby is very active in her church and community.

She is the recipient of the 2007 Texarkana Regional Arts and Humanities Standing Ovation Award, Tandy Technology Scholars Outstanding Teacher, and Campus Teacher of the Year. “We are pleased to name Mrs. Formby the 2016-2017 Texarkana Arkansas School District Teacher of the Year,” said Superintendent Dr. Becky Kesler. She is highly respected among her colleagues and students; and is well-deserving of receiving this honor."

As the TASD Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Formby will compete for Arkansas State Teacher of the Year which is announced in the Fall.


More From Eagle 106.3