Janell Owens Morton has joined the Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center at Southern Arkansas University as the center director. She comes to the ASBTDC from the Golden Triangle Economic Development Council, where she served as coordinator.


According to a press release, Morton brings to the ASBTDC more than 25 years of business experience. She holds a degree in business administration with a minor in accounting from SAU. She succeeds Megan Whitehead, who has joined the faculty of the Rankin College of Business. The ASBTDC office is located on the first floor of the Blanchard Building that is home to the Rankin College of Business.
Assisting Arkansas businesses has been the mission of the ASBTDC since its inception in 1979. Part of a national network of more than 1,000 small business development centers, the ASBTDC serves the business community of Arkansas through a statewide network of offices. The ASBTDC provides training, consulting, and research services and is the state’s premier business assistance program.
The SAU SBTDC operates as a regional office of the Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center, a statewide network of seven regional offices located on university campuses throughout the state. Any new venture or existing business may receive assistance from the center.
The SAU SBTDC serves the following counties: Calhoun, Columbia, Hempstead, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Nevada, Ouachita, and Union. E-mails, phone calls, and referrals are always welcome, and the staff looks forward to serving small businesses in these areas.

More From Eagle 106.3