Texas A&M University-Texarkana will host its fifth annual A&M's Got Talent competition tonight (Friday) at 7PM. in Eagle Hall of the University Center.

Eleven talented A&M-Texarkana students were selected in a preliminary competition to compete in the final round on Friday. The winner will receive a $500 cash prize.

Talents include singing, guitar, piano, dancing, rapping and more.  The audience gets to help select the winner by casting a vote for its favorite performer. The winner is determined by audience vote at 50 percent and judges’ score at 50 percent.

This year's contestants are Christopher Armstead and Kevin Tsati-Onla, Deandra Willis, Majestic Ingram, Kaylee McGill, Jewell Purdy, Shalese Mitchell, Matthew Bell, Savanna Martin, Tiana Miller, Debra Colbey and Dallas Watts.

“I am always amazed at the level of talent displayed by our students at this event,” said Celeste McNiel, director of Student Life. “Year after year, this one is a very special one to me.  Our students are our best resource and it is so fun to give them a chance to showcase their abilities in this type of venue.”

A&M’s Got Talent will be emceed by dancer, musician, actor and comedian Ken Paryo, also known as Xclusive, who has been featured on “America's Got Talent,” “So You Think You Can Dance” and many other venues.

The free event is open to the public. Doors open at 6:45 p.m.



More From Eagle 106.3