The Texas A&M University-Texarkana Alumni Association Board of Directors is accepting nominations for distinguished alumni and faculty.

This will be for recognition at the 2017 Eagle Roundup on Thursday, Oct. 12, at 6:30PM on the A&M-Texarkana campus.

Mark Bledsoe of the United Way of Greater Texarkana and Nicole Raley of Farmer’s Bank and Trust are serving as co-chairs of the event. Bledsoe graduated from A&M-Texarkana in 1989 with a Master of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies. Raley graduated in 2004 with a Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences. Both are members of the A&M-Texarkana Alumni Association Board of Directors.

This year’s celebration, which is set during the 2017 A&M-Texarkana Homecoming Week, is the primary fundraiser for the Alumni Association. Corporations, individuals and organizations sponsoring the 2017 Eagle Roundup will provide much-needed funds for student scholarships at A&M-Texarkana.

“An investment in scholarships at A&M-Texarkana is an investment in the future of our community, our state and our region,” Bledsoe and Raley explained. “Now more than ever, scholarships can mean the difference in a student attending A&M-Texarkana or choosing another school. We want to make sure we have the ability to recruit and enroll students who want to attend our university and become a part of the Texarkana community.”

Up to three distinguished alumni and one distinguished faculty member will be recognized at the event. Nominations may be made by completing an online nomination form, on the A&M-Texarkana Alumni and Friends website. Deadline for nominations is Monday, July 3.

Presentation of the Distinguished Alumni Awards began in 1982, and the Distinguished Faculty Award was introduced in 1999.

For more information on nominations and sponsorships, contact Mark Missildine in Alumni Relations at or call (903) 223-3153.



More From Eagle 106.3