Texarkana Independent School District is proud to announce its Teachers of the Year. Congratulations to Tara Droske as Elementary Teacher of the Year and Robin Hilton as Secondary Teacher of the Year. Both have moved forward for consideration as Region VIII Teacher of the Year.


Tara Droske, who has 12 years in education, serves as a Kindergarten Teacher at Morriss Elementary School.

According to a press release

Droske believes that a strong teacher is constantly learning, changing, growing, collaborating, engaging their students, building relationships and growing leaders. She is a lifelong learner and is always willing to share her knowledge and experience with others.




Robin Hilton, TISD Secondary Teacher of the Year, is an 8th Grade Social Studies Teacher at Texas Middle School who has been in the field of education for 29 years. -

She has dedicated her life to teaching and fostering the love of lifelong learning in her students. Hilton’s teaching style is to teach the child, not the subject, in an effort to make classroom learning fun and personal.



Also announced were the Campus Teachers of the Year which are:

Dunbar Early Education Center – Tamara Coker;

Highland Park Elementary School – Lakien Lawson;

Nash Elementary School – Rachel Sparks;

Spring Lake Park Elementary School – Tonja Upchurch;

Theron Jones Early Literacy Center – Kelly Hile;

Waggoner Creek Elementary School – Jami Blain;

Wake Village Elementary School – Susanna LeJeune;

Westlawn Elementary School – Jessica Musgraves;

Texas High School – Emily Szymanski;

Alternative Education – Tracy Forte representing Disciplinary Alternative

Education Program (DAEP) and Therapeutic Intervention Learning Center (TILC)

Congratulations to all these amazing educators!