Efforts to restore a historic home in Texarkana recently received a lift with grant money being awarded.The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, recently awarded the Texarkana Museums System a $20,329 Historic Preservation Restoration Grant for restoration work at the 1916 Patrick Ahern House in Texarkana.

The Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) was created in 1975 to preserve and promote Arkansas’ natural and cultural heritage as a source of pride and enjoyment for all. The original legislation named the agency the "Department of Arkansas Natural and Cultural Heritage" and grouped together culturally oriented agencies in one department. The agency name was changed to its current title in 1985.

DAH consists of seven agencies, each with its own special contributions, and a director’s office, which manages general administrative and marketing operations. The agencies are: the Arkansas Arts Council (AAC), which seeks to advance the arts in Arkansas; the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), which manages the state’s historic and cultural resources and operates the Main Street Arkansas program.