The Texarkana Arkansas School District is accepting nominations for Distinguished Alumni for the 2016-2017 school year.

Nominations will be accepted through January 31. Nominees must be recognized for outstanding contribution in business, professional, or vocational endeavors. They must be of high moral character and integrity, and recognize and support public education. Finally, nominees must be graduates or former students of Arkansas High School or Washington High School and/or North Heights High School.

Past recipients of the award include Dr. Marcus Orr, Mr. Rod Smith, Judge Joe Griffin, Mayor Horace Shipp, Lt. Col. Deloise Gamble, Mrs. Emer Pondexter, Mrs. LeAnne Wright, and Dr. Teretha Harper. The award, started by the Class of 1984, has been given to more than 45 former students over the past 24 years.

Nomination forms are available online at or at the TASD Administration office at 3435 Jefferson Avenue, Texarkana, Arkansas.
For more information, contact Genia Bullock at 870-772-3371 ext. 3403.



More From Eagle 106.3