Nominations for the Department of Arkansas Heritage Arkansas Food Hall of Fame are closing October 31, 2018. This is the third year for the statewide program to recognize the legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events across the state.

Nominate your favorites for all five categories at now.

“I hope everyone will take a minute and join us in celebrating food as an interesting and important aspect of our state’s heritage,” said Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst in a recent press release. “Now is the time to honor your favorite food-themed event, local restaurant, chef or proprietor by making nominations to the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame.”

Nominations are being accepted in five categories:

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame – This award recognizes restaurants that have been in business for 25 years or more and are locally owned. These places have earned an iconic status within Arkansas’s food scene.
Proprietor of the Year – This award honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner in Arkansas who has made significant achievements in the food industry.

Food-Themed Event – This award honors a community food-themed event or festival that has been in existence for five years or more and makes our state an authentic and interesting place to live and visit.
People’s Choice – This award identifies the public’s favorite. It is truly in the hands of Arkansans. The restaurant or food truck that receives the highest number of votes wins.

Gone But Not Forgotten – This award remembers the collective culinary legacy of a once-and-always influential Arkansas restaurant that has since ceased operations.

Winners will be chosen this winter by a blue-ribbon committee composed of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors. Committee members include, Paul S. Austin, Evette Brady, Chip Culpepper, Cindy Grisham, Stacy Hurst, Montine McNulty, Tim Morton, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Dr. Wendy Richter, Christina Shutt and Swannee Bennett. Honorees and finalists will be announced at a special ceremony on February 25, 2019.

More From Eagle 106.3