The Texarkana College Board of Trustees met Monday to approve the institution’s two-year strategic plan including its vision, mission, core values and beliefs. 

The approval of the plan was the final step in setting measurable goals for the College that will advance this community through attainable higher education and lifelong learning opportunities.

The plan establishes the core values of Texarkana College, which include opportunity, excellence, community and success, and shows the top priorities to be:

  • Enhancing, upgrading and renovating facilities to meet state and federal ADA compliance standards and modernizing instructional space,
  • active involvement in a regional economic development initiative effort, and
  • reaching $10 million in TC Foundation assets by 2020 and growing the TC Alumni & Friends Network to 1,000 members by 2018

“Over the next two years, we will measure progress by our level of adherence to these values, priorities and our mission,” said TC President James Henry Russell. “Making informed decisions is important now more than ever for the future of Texarkana College and our community.”

In other business, Dr. Donna McDaniel, Vice President of Instruction, recognized the 2018 National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Teaching in Excellence Award Winners representing Texarkana College. Denise Johnson, biology faculty member, and Dr. John Dixon Boyles, Dean of Business & Social Sciences, received the prestigious award at the NISOD national conference held on May 27, 2018, in Austin, Texas. McDaniel said Johnson and Boyles go above and beyond for their students and make significant contributions to our community in helping build a college-going culture.

“On behalf of TC, it is our honor to have two outstanding representatives to present as our 2018 NISOD Excellence Award Winners,” said McDaniel. “Both recipients exemplify outstanding professionalism and work for the good of the entire college and community. Through their guidance and leadership, students thrive and achieve their dreams of earning a college credential despite the barriers they are facing. We are fortunate to have both as members of our TC team.”

Johnson has served TC for 17 years and is currently an associate professor of biology. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Texas Woman’s University and a Master of Science in Biochemistry from LSU-Shreveport. She serves as the coordinator of anatomy and physiology courses for TC’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Division.

Dr. Catherine Howard, Dean of STEM, said Texarkana College is lucky to have Johnson as a faculty member.

“She is a consummate professional, enthusiastic teacher, kind and compassionate, expert in her field, dedicated and loyal employee—these are just a few descriptors that come to mind when I think of Denise Johnson,” said Howard. “She is a wonderful teacher and valued member of our division who has a heart for students.  She loves her students, encourages them, tutors them, keeps in touch with them as they move into their chosen paths, and has very high expectations. Her classes are tough. However, I can’t count how many times former students have told me that they learned more in her classes than any other they took in their college careers. When students leave her classes, they leave with all the preparation necessary to do well in subsequent coursework and ultimately in their chosen health-related professions.”

Boyles serves as Dean of Business and Social Sciences and is TC’s liaison for accrediting body Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Boyles earned his Bachelor of Arts in History and Master in Fine Arts in English and Creative Writing from University of Arkansas-Fayetteville. He holds a Doctor in Education degree in Educational Leadership from East Carolina University – Greenville, NC. Prior to joining the TC team in 2014, Boyles worked at Beaufort County Community College from 1999 to 2014 where he served as Dean of Arts & Sciences and SACSCOC liaison.

“Dixon brings depth of knowledge and higher education acumen to TC as a leader in the Business and Social Science Division and as our SACSCOS liaison,” said McDaniel. “As Dean, his visionary leadership has positioned TC as a forerunner in innovative course delivery and streamlined pathways toward student success and completion. We have reached completion milestones at TC because of Dixon and we are looking forward to implementing more of his pioneering ideas.”

Johnson and Boyles received a specially cast pewter medallion at the Excellence Award Dinner and Celebration attended by hundreds of representatives from community colleges throughout the nation. Since 1991, NISOD has recognized community and technical college faculty, administrators, and staff for their achievements and contributions to their institutions.

For more information about Texarkana College, or to download a copy of the approved strategic plan, visit the TC website.

More From Eagle 106.3