It’s somewhat misleading to call Bret Michaels‘ next album a solo effort, as he’s teamed up with nearly a dozen well-known rockers and country musicians. The Poison frontman has recorded the project without the band that made him famous. Instead, artists like Ace Frehley, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Aerosmith’s Joe Perry and many more will join him on Poison hits.

Michaels tells Rolling Stone that ‘Nothin’ But a Good Time’ will feature Fehley, Chickenfoot bassist Michael Anthony and rapper Lil Jon. “Ace Frehley is the real deal,” he said of the former Kiss guitarist. “He laid down this amazing solo and then Michael Anthony came in, he did the backups, and I was like, ‘Just play some Michael Anthony licks.’ He did, and that’s what made magic on the song.”

‘Bret Michaels and Friends: Get Your Rock On’ will be available in September. It will include a version of ‘Every Rose Has Its Thorn’ (with Perry) and collaborations with Loretta Lynn.38 Special and Jay DeMarcus of the country group Rascal Flatts.

Michaels got Gary Rossington and Rickey Medlocke of Lynyrd Skynyrd to cut ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ with him. “That was amazing because probably my first foot in the door as a child was traditional country,” he said, “then I got turned onto the Beatles and Stones. Then I immediately fell in love with Southern rock, which was kind of a perfect mixture of country and rock.”

As previously reported, Michaels will also sing ‘Margaritaville’ with Jimmy Buffett. “It’s all people I know. Vinnie Paul from Pantera. They’re all friends of mine.”

Poison is currently on tour with Def Leppard. According to their official website the co-headlining tour is scheduled to run through Sept. 15.

(Editor’s note: We just topped the record for number of links in one story, set by a previous story on this album. We’re very proud!)

More From Eagle 106.3