David Bowie has kicked off his new year and celebrated his 66th birthday with a brand-new single, his first original music release in ten years.

“Where Are We Now?” was released on iTunes at 5:00 Tuesday morning, Bowie’s birthday, with a fully-produced video premiering on DavidBowie.com at the same time.  The video was shot in the basement, now a repair shop, below the Berlin apartment in which Bowie once lived.  Even better, Bowie announced he’s releasing a brand-new album, titled The Next Day, on March 12 in the U.S., though it’s available for pre-order now on iTunes.  The album will come in standard and deluxe editions, the latter containing three bonus tracks.

Bowie’s website, which also has been re-designed, declares, “New Website, Album, Single and Video for the Birthday Boy,” and goes on to say while it’s still being finished, “be sure to pop back later today for more regarding all of this and more.”

Bowie’s last studio album was 2003′s Reality.

Here’s the track listing for The Next Day:

“The Next Day”
“Dirty Boys”
“The Stars (Are Out Tonight)”
“Love Is Lost”
“Where Are We Now? ”
“Valentine’s Day”
“If You Can See Me”
“I’d Rather Be High”
“Boss of Me”
“Dancing Out in Space”
“How Does the Grass Grow”
” (You Will) Set the World On Fire”
“You Feel So Lonely You Could Die”

Bonus tracks:
“So She”
“I’ll Take You There”